The Hammer Mill in Dobřív
Iron processing has a rich history in Dobřív; it was produced and processed here from the early 1500s to the middle of the 20th century. Until the mid-19th century, the region of Podbrdsko was the most important producer of iron in the Czech lands.
Today’s brick building from the beginning of the 19th century stands on the site of the old wooden hammer mills from 1658 and 1701. The extensive machinery dates back to the 19th century, year 1901, and partly comes from mere recent times. Originally, the hammer mill was used to forge pig iron and forge bar blanks from it. After the spread of more modern steelmaking technology, the hammer mill switched to the production of heavy wrought iron tools in the late 1860s. By 1949, it employed up to 28 workers.
The stocky hammerhouse building with a skylight is recessed into the ground on one side, and on the other side under the flume of the cooling room with 4 water wheels. Two of the wheels drive heavy overhead hammers, the other turn a sub-ceiling belt-driven transmission to a lightweight tail hammer and two machine shears. Visitors can also see other working tools and equipment in the hammer mill. The hammer mill is connected to a historical flow-through system with water power distribution from Černý potok (the Black Creek) to the individual iron mill buildings.